Tucker named head football coach at Colorado

Mel Tucker, who has spent the last three years as the defensive coordinator and secondary coach at the University of Georgia, has been named the 26th full-time head football coach at the University...

National Press Club honors Plunkett for ‘clarion call to save local journalism’

Eight months after publishing a special section decrying massive layoffs at The Denver Post and criticizing its owners for losing sight of the paper’s mission, former editorial page editor Chuck...
Suding, Perkins named AAAS fellows for 2018

Suding, Perkins named AAAS fellows for 2018

CU Boulder professors Katharine Suding and Tom Perkins are among 416 newly elected Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), an honor bestowed by their peers. AAAS...

Arruda hired as CU Boulder director of international student academic success

In an effort to better support the academic success of international students, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education Mary Kraus has hired Roberto Arruda to serve as CU Boulder’s first director of...

Corotis honored by American Society of Civil Engineers

CEAE Professor Ross Corotis was announced as a 2019 OPAL Leadership Award Winner by the American Society of Civil Engineers.
Association of International Researchers' International Education Week

Hernandez, Miller, Sibray, Van Boven receive Employee of the Year Awards

The annual Chancellor’s Employee of the Year Award is presented to CU Boulder staff in recognition of and appreciation for exceptional job performance and remarkable contributions to the campus...
Ray receives conservation award

Ray receives conservation award

Chris Ray, a researcher from the University of Colorado Boulder known for her work with pikas in the Colorado alpine, is this year’s recipient of the Denver Zoological Conservation Award.

DiStefano named Quigg and Virginia S. Newton Endowed Chair in Leadership

Beginning Jan. 1, Chancellor Philip P. DiStefano will serve as the Quigg and Virginia S. Newton Endowed Chair in Leadership.

Technology, innovation drives work of new dean McDonald

CU Boulder Today sat down with one of the campus's newest deans, Robert McDonald, who discusses his perspectives on everything from the libraries' greatest assets in service to the community to a...

Bowman celebrates induction in national academy of medicine

In a ceremony in Washington, D.C., this weekend, CU Boulder Professor Chris Bowman was officially inducted into the National Academy of Medicine.

Spencer wins top award for study of cellular proliferation

NIH’s High-Risk, High-Reward Research program to fund Sabrina Spencer’s CU Boulder research that could shed light on cancer treatment

Dougherty receives Doug Faires Award

Earlier this August, Anne Dougherty was presented with the Doug Faires award during the Mathematical Association of America’s (MCM) annual meeting- the 2018 MathFest. She received this award for her...

Cech still loves teaching

CU Boulder's Tom Cech won the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1989, but he firmly believes his place is still in the classroom teaching undergraduates. Here, he discusses how teaching adds meaning to...

Newman named executive director of admissions

Colleen Newman this summer was named the executive director of admissions. She has been on campus for four years, previously holding the positions of associate director and director of admissions.

Lockheed Martin executive Tobey joins CU Engineering

Kathryn Tobey, who recently retired as a Lockheed Martin executive, is joining the University of Colorado Boulder as a scholar in residence. CU Engineering Dean Bobby Braun today announced Tobey‘s...

Sifuentes receives Boulder County 2018 Multicultural Award

Manuela Sifuentes, The Director of Community Partnerships at CU Engage, will receive the 2018 Multicultural Award in Education presented by Boulder County on October 4, 2018 at the Boulder Jewish...
Jones named associate vice chancellor for Integrity, Safety and Compliance

Jones named associate vice chancellor for Integrity, Safety and Compliance

Today, Senior Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer Kelly Fox announced Dan Jones, chief information security officer (CISO) for CU, will be taking over as the associate vice chancellor (AVC)...

Baker receives high honor in geophysics

The American Geophysical Union (AGU) has selected LASP Director Daniel Baker as its 2018 William Bowie Medal recipient. AGU’s highest honor, the William Bowie Medal, is given annually to one honoree...
JILA, CIRES, NOAA researchers honored with 2018 Governor's Awards

JILA, CIRES, NOAA researchers honored with 2018 Governor's Awards

Two teams affiliated with CU Boulder have been recognized for their impact on the state of Colorado through research on tabletop lasers and the role of consumer products in air pollution.
Jones named dean of students

Jones named dean of students

Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs Christina Gonzales has named Sandy Jones as the dean of students. Jones began with the Division of Student Affairs on Aug. 20.

DeJong named emergency manager

The CU Boulder Police Department has hired Garry DeJong to be the new director of Events and Emergency Management. DeJong replaces Stuart Pike, who retired at the end of June.

Jokerst named CU Boulder police chief

Doreen Jokerst has been named the next chief of police for the CU Boulder Police Department after a national search, campus officials announced Friday. Jokerst, a commander with the Parker Police...
Fox receives two national awards on same day

Fox receives two national awards on same day

University of Colorado Boulder chemical and biological engineering Assistant Professor Jerome M. Fox won two prestigious national awards this spring.

Sirangelo to join CU Boulder Engineering

Mark Sirangelo, who just concluded his career as the head of aerospace giant Sierra Nevada Corporation’s Space Systems, is joining the University of Colorado Boulder as an entrepreneur-in-residence...