UCCS faculty recognized for research


More than a dozen University of Colorado Colorado Springs faculty members were honored Oct. 11 for their contributions to the university’s research mission.

Awards included recognition for entry into a coveted class of UCCS researchers, those who have received $1 million or more in sponsored research grants, as well as those faculty members receiving their first awards and those making their first proposals for externally funded research. In addition, two long-time supporters of the campus research mission were recognized.

Michael Larson, associate vice chancellor, Research and Innovation, and Chancellor Pam Shockley-Zalabak presented the awards.

Recipients are:

Special Service Awards:

  • Jon Pigage, assistant professor, Department of Biology. Pigage was recognized for his leadership of the university’s animal research committee.
  • Rob Sackett, professor, Department of History. Sackett was recognized for his leadership of the Committee on Research and Creative Works

Million Dollar Club:

  • Lori A. Bryan, project director, CU Aging Center
  • First Research Award:
  • Cheryl Kelly, assistant professor, Beth-El College of Nursing and Health Sciences
  • Taylor Lilly, assistant professor, College of Engineering and Applied Science

First Proposal Submitted:

  • Julaine Field, associate professor, College of Education
  • Cerian Gibbes, assistant professor, Department of Geography and Environmental Studies
  • Tracy Gonzalez-Padron, assistant professor, College of Business
  • Angela Bell, lecturer, College of Education
  • Cedar League, professional research assistant, Trauma, Health and Hazards Center
  • Carole Traylor, assistant professor, Beth-El College of Nursing and Health Sciences
  • Eugenia Olesnicky Killian, assistant professor, Department of Biology