Dropping names ...

By Staff
Lorna G.


Several Ph.D. candidates from the University of Colorado Boulder recently were honored by the Anita Borg Institute for Women and Technology. Ifeyinwa Okoye was one of 30 Google Anita Borg Memorial scholars and received $10,000. The scholars, who attend universities in the United States and Canada, will join the annual Google Scholars’ Retreat this summer in New York City, where they will have the opportunity to attend tech talks on Google products, network with other scholars and Googlers, participate in developmental activities and sessions, and attend social activities. Allison Brown and Neeti Wagle were named finalists and received $1,000 each. Borg worked to dismantle the barriers that keep women and minorities from entering the computing and technology fields. The memorial scholarships were established in 2004. … Lorna Moore, professor of obstetrics and gynecology, recently received the Grover Prize from the American Thoracic Society. The award recognizes “outstanding contributions to the study of the effect of hypoxia and high altitude on the pulmonary circulation” and is named after Robert F. Grover, M.D., PhD, a member of the School of Medicine faculty from 1957 until 1984. … Bryan Haugen and Marvin Schwarz, professors of medicine, are among the 64 physicians elected this year to the Association of American Physicians, which has about 1,300 active members and 600 emeritus and honorary members. … Ross Camidge, director of the thoracic oncology clinical program and associate director for clinical research at the CU Cancer Center, has received the Hank Baskett Sr. Spirit Award. The award was created to raise funds and awareness for those affected by lung cancer.