Three faculty members honored as exceptional educators

Leaders at CU-Boulder, UCCS recognized for teaching, scholarship, research
By Staff

Three University of Colorado faculty members have been chosen as 2013 President’s Teaching Scholars, educators who have skillfully integrated teaching and research at a high level throughout their careers at CU.

The title of CU President’s Teaching Scholar signifies the university system’s highest recognition of excellence in and commitment to learning and teaching, as well as active, substantial contributions to scholarly work. CU President Bruce D. Benson solicits annual nominations of faculty for the designation, which is a lifetime appointment.

The newly named scholars are:

Charles C. “Chip” Benight, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Psychology, University of Colorado Colorado Springs
Scot Douglass, Ph.D., Associate Professor, College of Engineering and Applied Science, University of Colorado Boulder
Elspeth “Beth” Dusinberre, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Classics Department, CU-Boulder

Benight is founder and director of the CU-Trauma, Health & Hazards Center, a cross-disciplinary center focused on extreme human events. His primary area of research interest is in human adaptation from trauma, including recovery from natural and man-made disasters, auto accident trauma, sexual abuse, domestic violence and bereavement. He has been funded by the National Institute of Mental Health, the National Science Foundation and the Department of Defense.

“He is the prototype for what a mentor should be,” wrote Thomas P. Huber, professor and President’s Teaching Scholar at UCCS, in nominating Benight. “His teaching and his research meld together, especially for his master’s students and his colleagues in the Trauma Center.”

Benight earned his doctorate in counseling psychology, with an emphasis in health psychology/behavioral medicine, from Stanford University. He earned his master’s degree in counseling and his bachelor’s degree in business management from Arizona State University.

Douglass is director and faculty-in-residence at the Andrews Hall Residential College, Engineering Honors and Goldshirt Residential Academic Programs (RAP). He also is faculty director of the Engineering Honors Program and an associate professor in the Herbst Program of Humanities for Engineers. He strives to make literature accessible and relevant.

“Scot is an outstanding teacher and researcher, a prize-winning Residential Academic Program Director, a highly valued colleague, and an inspiration and mentor to both students and faculty alike,” wrote Diane E. Sieber, associate dean for education in the College of Engineering and Applied Science, in nominating Douglass.

He earned his doctorate in comparative literature from CU-Boulder, his master’s in theology from Dallas Theological Seminary and his bachelor’s in cellular and developmental biology from the University of Arizona.

Dusinberre teaches primarily Greek and Near Eastern archaeology. She played a key role in redesigning her department’s art and archeology curriculum for graduates and undergraduates, and has authored three books.

“Dusinberre is a remarkably dedicated teacher and researcher with a passion for her subject of Greek and Near Eastern Art and Archaeology and a gift for communicating that passion to students, colleagues and the general public,” wrote Diane A. Conlin, associate professor of classics, in the nomination letter. “She has inspired a whole generation of young archaeologists and art historians in our program both through her formidable expertise and keen intellect, and also through her caring and compassionate mentoring.”

She earned her doctorate in classical art and archaeology from the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor; her bachelor’s degree in classical archaeology from Harvard University.