Members of provost search committee chosen; set to meet Monday


A 14-member search committee will assist in the selection of a new UCCS provost, Chancellor Pam Shockley-Zalabak announced Friday.

Thirteen faculty and staff members were selected following nominations by campus governance groups. A student representative will be added before the committee’s first meeting on Monday. At that meeting, the committee will review a position description and advertising plan.

On Feb. 7, Provost Peg Bacon announced her plan to retire effective July 1 after 34 years of service to the university.

The committee will be co-chaired by Terry Schwartz, associate dean, School of Public Affairs, and Charlie Sweet, executive director, Strategic Planning and Initiatives.

Other committee members are:

  • Suzanne Cook, instructor, Languages and Cultures Department
  • Andrew Czaplewski, professor, College of Business
  • Julaine Field, associate professor, College of Education
  • Barbara Gaddis, executive director, Office of Student Retention and First Year Experience
  • Tom Hutton, executive director, University Advancement
  • Katie Kaukinen, associate professor, School of Public Affairs
  • Andrew Ketsdever, assistant professor, College of Engineering and Applied Science
  • Tom Napierkowski, professor, English Department
  • Ellen Pettijohn, assistant director, Office of Student Retention and First Year Experience
  • Jevita Rogers, director, Office of Financial Aid and Student Employment
  • Susan Szpyrka, senior associate vice chancellor, Administration and Finance


Tagged with: