Penuel elected to National Academy of Education

Penuel elected to National Academy of Education

Bill Penuel has been elected to join the National Academy of Education (NAEd), which advances high quality education research and its use in policy and practice, the Academy announced this month.
Two CU engineers to serve as officers in Navy’s submarine force

Two CU engineers to serve as officers in Navy’s submarine force

The U.S. Navy seeks only the best and brightest for its Nuclear Propulsion Officer candidates—and two CU Engineers just made the cut.
Irv Brown

In memoriam: Irv Brown

Irv Brown, the former University of Colorado baseball coach, collegiate referee and longtime local media personality, passed away early Sunday morning from complications due to a brief illness. He...
Provost names three administrators to posts in Academic Affairs

Provost names three administrators to posts in Academic Affairs

Provost Russell Moore today named Ann Schmiesing to the post of senior vice provost for academic resource management, Michele Moses as vice provost and associate vice chancellor for Faculty Affairs...

In memoriam: Peter Dietze

Peter Dietze, formerly of Boulder, Colorado, died on January 4, 2019, in Eugene, Oregon. He was 84. He was husband of the late Betty Nan (Burdick) Dietze. He was the son of the late Annemarie Muenzel...
Plati Honored With FWAA Lifetime Achievement Award

Plati Honored With FWAA Lifetime Achievement Award

Colorado Sports Information Director David Plati has worked for six athletic directors, nine head football coaches and seven men's basketball coaches. He has overseen national championship seasons in...

In memoriam: Kathy Arnold

After the legislature, Kathy turned her attention to her alma mater and was elected to an At-Large position in the University of Colorado Board of Regents. She served for six years, including serving...
Weimer, Hall named National Academy of Inventors Fellows

Weimer, Hall named National Academy of Inventors Fellows

The National Academy of Inventors (NAI) today named two members of the CU Boulder research community to its class of fellows for 2018.

In memoriam: James Avery

James Avery James Paul Avery, professor emeritus and former associate dean of the College of Engineering and Applied Science at CU Boulder, died Dec. 1, 2018, after a year and a half battle with a...

Tucker named head football coach at Colorado

Mel Tucker, who has spent the last three years as the defensive coordinator and secondary coach at the University of Georgia, has been named the 26th full-time head football coach at the University...

National Press Club honors Plunkett for ‘clarion call to save local journalism’

Eight months after publishing a special section decrying massive layoffs at The Denver Post and criticizing its owners for losing sight of the paper’s mission, former editorial page editor Chuck...
Suding, Perkins named AAAS fellows for 2018

Suding, Perkins named AAAS fellows for 2018

CU Boulder professors Katharine Suding and Tom Perkins are among 416 newly elected Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), an honor bestowed by their peers. AAAS...

Arruda hired as CU Boulder director of international student academic success

In an effort to better support the academic success of international students, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education Mary Kraus has hired Roberto Arruda to serve as CU Boulder’s first director of...

Corotis honored by American Society of Civil Engineers

CEAE Professor Ross Corotis was announced as a 2019 OPAL Leadership Award Winner by the American Society of Civil Engineers.
Association of International Researchers' International Education Week

Hernandez, Miller, Sibray, Van Boven receive Employee of the Year Awards

The annual Chancellor’s Employee of the Year Award is presented to CU Boulder staff in recognition of and appreciation for exceptional job performance and remarkable contributions to the campus...
Ray receives conservation award

Ray receives conservation award

Chris Ray, a researcher from the University of Colorado Boulder known for her work with pikas in the Colorado alpine, is this year’s recipient of the Denver Zoological Conservation Award.

DiStefano named Quigg and Virginia S. Newton Endowed Chair in Leadership

Beginning Jan. 1, Chancellor Philip P. DiStefano will serve as the Quigg and Virginia S. Newton Endowed Chair in Leadership.

Technology, innovation drives work of new dean McDonald

CU Boulder Today sat down with one of the campus's newest deans, Robert McDonald, who discusses his perspectives on everything from the libraries' greatest assets in service to the community to a...

Bowman celebrates induction in national academy of medicine

In a ceremony in Washington, D.C., this weekend, CU Boulder Professor Chris Bowman was officially inducted into the National Academy of Medicine.

Spencer wins top award for study of cellular proliferation

NIH’s High-Risk, High-Reward Research program to fund Sabrina Spencer’s CU Boulder research that could shed light on cancer treatment

Dougherty receives Doug Faires Award

Earlier this August, Anne Dougherty was presented with the Doug Faires award during the Mathematical Association of America’s (MCM) annual meeting- the 2018 MathFest. She received this award for her...

Cech still loves teaching

CU Boulder's Tom Cech won the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1989, but he firmly believes his place is still in the classroom teaching undergraduates. Here, he discusses how teaching adds meaning to...

Newman named executive director of admissions

Colleen Newman this summer was named the executive director of admissions. She has been on campus for four years, previously holding the positions of associate director and director of admissions.

Lockheed Martin executive Tobey joins CU Engineering

Kathryn Tobey, who recently retired as a Lockheed Martin executive, is joining the University of Colorado Boulder as a scholar in residence. CU Engineering Dean Bobby Braun today announced Tobey‘s...