CU Denver faculty honored for excellence

By Staff

CU Denver faculty honored for excellence
Thirty-three faculty members at CU Denver recently received awards at the 2013 Celebration of Faculty Excellence. Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Laura Goodwin delivered introductory remarks at the event in the North Classroom atrium and Provost Rod Nairn presented the certificates and plaques.

Selection committees in the areas of non-tenure-track faculty, service, faculty mentoring, research and creative activities, and teaching -- each consisting of award winners from the previous two years -- selected the campus winners.

Six faculty members received campus-wide awards: Rakissa Cribari, Pam Laird and Bryan Wee, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences; Tanya Heikkila and Paul Stretesky, School of Public Affairs; and Elaine Jurries, Auraria Library.

A new award this year, the Graduate School Dean's Mentoring Award, presented by Graduate School Dean Barry Shur, had three awardees: Elizabeth Allen and John Brett, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences; and Danielle Varda, School of Public Affairs.

On the Anschutz Medical Campus, the President’s Excellence in Teaching Award was given to: David Gozalo, School of Dental Medicine; Adam Trosterman, School of Medicine; Douglas Fish, Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences; Tammy Spencer, College of Nursing; and Yvonne Kellar-Guenther, Colorado School of Public Health.

The Chancellor’s Teaching Recognition Award was given to: Maureen Garrity, School of Medicine; Donald Kleier, School of Dental Medicine; Ty Kiser, Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences; Gail Armstrong, College of Nursing; Jill Slansky, Graduate School (Colorado School of Public Health); and Samantha MaWhinney, Colorado School of Public Health.

On the Denver Campus, the Excellence in Research & Creative Activities awards went to: Jeffrey Beall, Auraria Library; Mike Ferrara, Mike Wunder and Scott Reed, Liberal Arts and Sciences; Mark Gokowski, Engineering and Applied Sciences; Tanya Heikkila, Public Affairs (campus winner); Traci Sitzmann, Business School; and Kat Vlahos, Architecture and Planning.

Excellence in Teaching (Professor/Associate Professor/Assistant Professor) awards went to: Stacy Bosick and Laurel Hartley, Liberal Arts and Sciences; Lawrence Cunningham, Business School; Phillip Gallegos, Architecture and Planning; Wesley Marshall, Engineering and Applied Sciences; Donna Sobel, Education and Human Development; Paul Stretesky, Public Affairs; and Bryan Wee, Liberal Arts and Sciences (campus winner).

Excellence in Teaching (Senior Instructor/Instructor/Lecturer) awards were given to: Richard Argys, Education and Human Development; Yvette Bueno-Olson and Vivian Shyu, Liberal Arts and Sciences; Rakissa Cribari, Liberal Arts and Scineces (campus winner); and David Ruderman, Business School.

Excellence in Service awards were given to: Edward Cannon, Education and Human Development; Julien Langou and Marjorie Levine-Clark, Liberal Arts and Sciences; Ron Ramirez, Business School; Matthew Shea, Architecture and Planning; Karen Sobel, Auraria Library; and Paul Stretesky, Public Affairs (campus winner).

The Excellence in Librarianship award was given to Elaine Jurries, Auraria Library, and the Excellence in Faculty Mentoring award was presented to Pam Laird, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences.