CU Denver’s Bathje first to ‘Shine’

Kerrie Bathje


Kerrie Bathje delivers. She is customer oriented and innovative as she faces the challenges inherent in her position as manager of parking and transportation at CU Denver | Anschutz Medical Campus. For her dedication and service, she is the inaugural recipient of the Exempt Professional Assembly’s Let Your Light Shine award.

“Kerrie provides amazing customer service. She is beyond flexible and supportive. Someone you can truly depend on. She is a problem solver and go-to person,” noted one nominator.

Bathje was nominated by her supervisor, Carol Calkins, director of Facilities Support Services; Cheryl Gibson, director of the Student Assistance Office; and Jacque Montgomery, director of PR and media relations.

Nominators also cited Bathje’s outstanding service to her community.

“She is a consistent volunteer at a number of different levels and events at the schools her daughters attend,” nominators said. “For two years in a row, she participated in Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure. She annually donates to 9Cares Colorado Shares. She is a volunteer volleyball coach for the city of Aurora Parks and Recreation Department.”

Said Bathje, “I am extremely honored to have been nominated and selected to receive the first Let Your Light Shine award. At the same time, I am very fortunate to work with so many amazing people throughout the university who are continuously supportive of me and our department. This is very exciting for me, my wonderful family and the long list of remarkable people I work with. I thank you for this honor.”

LeeAnn Fields, EPA president, said the Let Your Light Shine honor is the first of many to come.

“Creating and implementing this new program has been one of the main goals of this year’s EPA Board based upon data the board received in a survey the year before where exempt professionals expressed a desire to have more recognition in the work environment,” she said. “We’ve also had very strong support from the chancellor’s level – first through Jerry Wartgow and now Don Elliman – down the line, including Jeff Parker and Kevin Jacobs, to establish such a program. The EPA Board really appreciates their positive, supportive guidance.”

See the CU Connections story on the new program>>