State legislators honored as champions for CU

Reps. Becker, Brown, Pabon and Willett recognized by leadership
By Staff

State legislators honored as champions for CU
From left, CU Regent Sue Sharkey, CU Regent Irene Griego, Rep. KC Becker (and son), Rep. J. Paul Brown, Rep. Dan Pabon (and son), Rep. Yeulin Willet and CU Regent Glen Gallegos.

University of Colorado leaders recently honored four members of the General Assembly for their dedication and service to CU, higher education and the state of Colorado during this year’s legislative session.

Receiving 2015 CU Legislative Champions Awards were:

  • Rep. KC Becker, D-Boulder
  • Rep. J. Paul Brown, R-Ignacio
  • Rep. Dan Pabon, D-Denver
  • Rep. Yeulin Willett, R-Grand Junction

Becker and Brown were honored for their work on the Colorado General Assembly’s Capital Development Committee on behalf of CU and higher education across Colorado.

Pabon and Willett were honored for sponsoring CU-initiated legislation, House Bill 15-1366, which provides a tax credit to expand job growth for businesses that partner with higher education institutions.

The four elected officials received their awards in a ceremony at the CU Buffaloes’ Sept. 12 football game at Folsom Field on the CU-Boulder campus. Presenting the awards on behalf of CU were President Bruce Benson, CU-Boulder Chancellor Phil DiStefano, CU Anschutz Medical Campus Chancellor Don Elliman and CU Regents Steve Bosley, Glen Gallegos, Irene Griego and Sue Sharkey.