Six faculty members receive Distinguished Professor designation

Honorees noted for outstanding research, excellence in the classroom
By Staff

Six University of Colorado faculty members have been recognized as Distinguished Professors, the highest faculty honor at the university. Distinguished Professors are faculty members who demonstrate exemplary performance in research or creative work, a record of excellence in classroom teaching and supervision of individual learning, and outstanding service to the profession, university and community.

CU President Bruce D. Benson reviewed nominations from colleagues and deans and, with the unanimous recommendation of a committee of Distinguished Professors, forwarded the candidates for the award to the Board of Regents. Honorees are:

Wayne Cascio, Ph.D., professor of management at the Business School, University of Colorado Denver. Cascio has been teaching for 30 years at the Business School and holds the Robert H. Reynolds Chair in Global Leadership. He has written 10 books and more than 100 scholarly articles and is considered a leading expert on organizational downsizing.  He has won numerous honors, including the highest award in his field, the Michael R. Losey Human Resource Research Award, and is one of only two U.S. citizens to receive an honorary doctorate from the University of Geneva.

Peter deLeon, Ph.D., professor of public policy in the School of Public Affairs, CU Denver. DeLeon has provided strong leadership for more than 25 years and was recognized for his contribution to CU and the field of public policy. Considered a national and international leader in public policy analytics, he has been a major figure in shaping South Korea’s current public policy. His work has greatly contributed to the School of Public Affairs’ rise in national recognition.

Stephen I. Goodman, M.D., professor of pediatrics in the School of Medicine, Anschutz Medical Campus. Goodman has worked for more than 45 years to develop and improve methods to diagnose, investigate, treat and prevent inborn human metabolism errors, rare genetic disorders in which the body cannot properly turn food into energy. He has directed the Diagnostic Biochemical Laboratory in the School of Medicine at Anschutz Medical Campus for 40 years.

Peter M. Henson, Ph.D., professor of pharmacology, immunology and pathology in the School of Medicine, Anschutz Medical Campus. Henson joined the Pulmonary Division at University of Colorado in 1977 and co-directed the division from 1985-1987. He has focused his research on tissue remodeling and homeostasis as well as many forms of pulmonary disease. He has placed particular emphasis on pathogenic and inflammatory mechanisms in acute lung injury, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease and interstitial lung diseases.

E. Chester Ridgway, M.D., MACP, professor of endocrinology at the School of Medicine, Anschutz Medical Campus. Ridgway has researched the peripheral actions of thyroid hormones in disorders of the thyroid gland. His research places emphasis on alterations in cardiac, brain, pulmonary, skeletal muscle, hepatic and adipocyte function in patients with thyroid dysfunction, their correction and appropriate therapies.

Richard Traystman, Ph.D., vice chancellor for research, CU Denver, and professor in the School of Medicine, Anschutz Medical Campus. Traytsman was recognized for his contribution in the field of cardiovascular and cerebrovascular physiology. Traystman’s work includes 500 peer-reviewed manuscripts and 300 national and internal presentations. His research has led to current procedures for pediatric resuscitation.

Cascio, deLeon and Traytsman, were honored by the University of Colorado Board of Regents at its September meeting. Goodman, Henson and Ridgway will be honored at the regents’ Nov. 9-10 meeting at CU-Boulder. With the addition of the six designees, 65 Distinguished Professors have been chosen since the program’s inception in 1977.