Regents re-elect Carrigan as chair, Sharkey as vice chair

Election took just one round of voting, compared to 14 rounds at prior meeting
By Staff
Michael, Chair, District 1


The University of Colorado Board of Regents on July 1 did in one round of voting what it failed to do in 14 rounds on June 21 – elect a chairman.

At a special meeting at 1800 Grant St., Michael Carrigan, D-Denver, was re-elected on a 4-3 vote, with two members of the nine-member board abstaining. Steve Bosley, R-Longmont, was the other nominee.

Sue Sharkey, R-Windsor, was re-elected vice chair on a 6-0 vote, with three abstentions.

“I’m excited to be re-elected chair and look forward to working with the entire board to make our great university even better,” Carrigan said.

The board traditionally elects the chair by secret ballot. Regent Kyle Hybl, R-Colorado Springs, brought forward a motion for a roll-call vote for chair, but it was defeated 5-3. Regents Bosley and Glen Gallegos, R-Grand Junction, joined Hybl in voting for the motion. The chair did not vote.

Carrigan is the fourth consecutive regent to be re-elected to a second term, following Hybl, Bosley and Pat Hayes.