Four chancellors make statements on White House immigration order

Campus leadership responds to controversial new policy
By Staff

Leaders at the University of Colorado’s four campuses have issued statements in response to the recent executive order by President Donald Trump temporarily forbidding citizens of seven countries from entering the United States.

Here are brief excerpts and links to their full statements:

CU Boulder Chancellor Phil DiStefano:

“The University of Colorado depends upon the scholarship that flows across international borders and works to be an institution that is fully inclusive of students and employees of all ethnic backgrounds, national origins and religions in our community.” Read the full statement here.

UCCS Chancellor Pam Shockley-Zalabak:

“With more than 30 countries represented at UCCS, the world comes to Colorado Springs through UCCS, providing our resident students a truly international experience at home. It is an experience we believe will last students a lifetime in our increasingly global society.” Read the full statement here.

CU Denver Chancellor Dorothy Horrell:

“We are and will remain unwaveringly committed to providing educational opportunities to students and recruiting faculty and staff without regard to nationality, place of birth or religious beliefs. We stand ready to provide them support and assistance.” Read the full statement here.

CU Anschutz Medical Campus Chancellor Don Elliman:

“The CU Anschutz community is greatly enriched by, and is committed to, the inclusion of students, faculty, researchers and staff who bring perspective and experience from across the world. Appropriate vetting processes have brought to our campus international students and scholars from all countries and diverse faiths.” Read the full statement here.