Faculty Council wraps up academic year

New officers elected for term that begins July 1

The University of Colorado Faculty Council wound down its academic year in a meeting at 1800 Grant St. on Thursday, May 12.

The council elected officers for 2011-2012: Mark Malone will continue as chair; John Wyckoff will be vice chair; Skip Hamilton, current vice chair, will move to secretary, succeeding Bruce Neumann. The transition takes place July 1.

The EPUS Committee brought a motion approving a request from the University of Colorado Law School to allow a grading scale of H, P, LP and F for students enrolled for the 2010-2011 program. The council passed the motion unanimously; it allows a one-time exception for students who were given erroneous information about use of the grading scale.

A motion brought from the Personnel Committee also passed unanimously; it approves revised language in the Administrative Policy Statement on the Faculty Appointment Process.

The council heard a presentation from Ronald Sokol, M.D., of the School of Medicine. Sokol also is director of the Colorado Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute, which is in the process of launching Profiles, a web-based networking tool aimed at connecting biomedical researchers at the university with one another and with collaborators around the globe.

On Friday, May 13, the council's new Communications Committee met for the first time; discussion centered on brainstorming ways the faculty might better communicate internally and externally. Melinda Piket-May will chair the committee, which next meets July 15.