School of Medicine announces new members of Academy of Medical Educators

By Staff

The University of Colorado School of Medicine has announced new members of the Academy of Medical Educators. The academy provides a home base for teachers and a visible mechanism to support and enhance all educational programs and teachers at the school. The primary goal is to create an environment that promotes and rewards teaching excellence and enhances the education of students, residents, fellows, faculty and community. Selection is through a rigorous internal and external peer review process and signifies outstanding accomplishment in teaching and medical education.

The doctors who are the Spring 2011 new members are: Mona Abaza, otolaryngology; Meredith Alston, obstetrics and gynecology; Mel Anderson, general internal medicine; Lisa Corbin, internal and integrative medicine; Mark Deutchman, family medicine; Lorraine Dugoff,obstetrics and gynecology; Rohit Katial,allergy/immunology; Paritosh Kaul, adolescent medicine, pediatrics; John Kendall, emergency medicine;Robert Low, pathology; Dianna Quan, neurology; Mike Vasil, microbiology; and Kent Voorhees,family medicine.