Former President Brown among Boulder alums receiving honors

By Staff

Former University of Colorado President Hank Brown was among the 21 outstanding university community members honored May 5 by the University of Colorado at Boulder Alumni Association.

Recipients of the 2010 George Norlin Award, which honors outstanding alumni for their careers and service to society, are: Brown ('61, '69), Julianne Mattingly Steinhauer ('60), Richard Knowlton ('54), and Laurence Boxer ('61).

Three professors and one top administrator received the Robert L. Stearns Award in recognition of extraordinary contributions to the university: John Cumalat, physics; Richard Noble, chemical and biological engineering; Senior Vice Chancellor and CFO Ric Porreca ('83); and Robert Schulzinger, history.

Four alumni received the Alumni Recognition Award: Joanne Easley Arnold ('52,'65, '71), Woody Eaton ('62) and Leslie Bernstein Eaton ('63) and Clancy Herbst Jr. ('50, '95).

Mary Allen Judd ('80) received the Leanne Skupa-Lee Award as a faithful National Alumni Admissions Assistance Program volunteer for more than 20 years.

The Kalpana Chawla Outstanding Recent Graduate Award went to Nick Sowden ('07).

Eight students were recognized as recipients of the Public Interest Internship Experience awards: Wynne Adams(junior environmental studies and art double major), Mindy Bridges (junior anthropology major), Denise Justice (senior international affairs major), Melissa Khat (senior international affairs major), Bryant Mason(junior economics and environmental studies double major), Heidi Meyer (sophomore education and English double major), Austin Rempel (senior ecology and economics double major), and Mercedes Ruiz (senior Spanish major).

The CU-Boulder Alumni Association administers scholarships, awards, online networking opportunities, alumni clubs and a museum, and publishes the monthly electronic newsletter Buffalum Notes and the quarterly alumni magazine, The Coloradan.