Anschutz leaders honored with inaugural Strength in Health awards



University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus leaders Richard Krugman and Dan Theodorescu recently were honored for lifetime achievement and innovation in health care, respectively, at The Denver Post Strength in Health awards event.

The evening recognized the top health care professionals and organizations that contribute to the health and wellness of Coloradans. Nearly 300 health care professionals, including 64 from CU Anschutz, were nominated in eight categories by their patients, colleagues and peers. Three health care professionals representing CU Anschutz, including York Miller, professor of medicine, in the physicians excellence category, were among the finalists.

An independent panel of judges made up of senior leadership from local hospitals and health organizations selected a winner in each category -- physicians excellence, administrative excellence, dental excellence, nurse's excellence, health care professional, innovation, community outreach and lifetime achievement. David Goff, dean of the Colorado School of Public Health, and Lonnie Johnson, professor and associate dean of clinical operations and patient services, CU School of Dental Medicine, served on the nine-member judging panel.

In the innovation category, Theodorescu was honored for his exemplary work in cancer research, particularly his stature as a world leader in translational bladder cancer research.

Krugman, dean of the CU School of Medicine for nearly 25 years, received the lifetime achievement award winner. Krugman manages an enterprise with a $1.1 billion budget and more than 3,000 faculty members and five affiliated health care providers.