President's Employee of the Year to be recognized next week

PBS' Affleck leads field of honorees at ceremony, reception
By Staff

Lisa Affleck of Payroll & Benefit Services has been named the President's Employee of the Year for system administration. She will receive a plaque and $1,000 prize from President Bruce D. Benson at a ceremony and reception at 3 p.m. Oct. 22 in the Fifth Floor Conference Room at 1800 Grant St.

The award is given in recognition and appreciation of exceptional job performance. Affleck was chosen from a field of six nominees; the five runners-up also will be recognized at next week's event, where they will receive honorary certificates. They are: Leo Balaban, University Information Services (UIS), desktop support at 1800 Grant St.; Katie Goodwin, University Counsel; Lindsay (Polak) Lennox, Tech Transfer Office; Tyler May, UIS; and Denise Nakamichi, Office of the President, budget and finance.

Next week's ceremony also will recognize employees who are reaching landmark years of service to the university.

Anyone wishing to attend is asked to RSVP to Ashley Mohr by e-mailing