Faculty invited to apply for Boettcher Investigator status

Early career researchers of human health eligible for awards up to $250,000
By Staff

The University of Colorado and the Boettcher Foundation have announced the 2012 Boettcher Foundation Webb-Waring Biomedical Research Awards Program, supporting early career investigators whose research directly affects human health.

The grants are intended to fund translational research that advances a discovery closer to clinical applications and that will improve the understanding, treatment and prevention of human disease.  Awardees will carry the prestigious title of Boettcher Investigator.

The 2012 awardees will be early career investigators who are within four years of appointment in a career-track academic position and who have not previously received a major independent award.  Three CU faculty researchers will receive a minimum of $200,000 and a maximum of $250,000 for research conducted over a one- to three-year period. Eligible faculty from all four CU campuses are encouraged to apply.

The Boettcher Foundation has awarded CU’s six current Boettcher Investigators a total of $1.4 million through the 2010 and 2011 programs.  They are:  Zhe Chen, Ph.D., University of Colorado Boulder; Robert C. Doebele, M.D., Ph.D., University of Colorado School of Medicine; Robin Dowell, D.Sc., CU-Boulder;  Gidon Felsen, PhD., CU School of Medicine; Paul Jedlicka, M.D., Ph.D., CU School of Medicine; and Jing H. Wang, M.D., Ph.D., CU School of Medicine.

Full details about the program, eligibility, CU’s application construction and submission procedures, CU deadlines, the review process and criteria, application components and extensive instructions about how to apply are available at Please do not contact the Boettcher Foundation directly.

Please note: There are substantial changes from the 2011 program, including an online application process (the INFO-ED portal) and final submission through campus grants administration officers. Applications must be submitted to campus pre-award officers no later than 5 p.m. Feb. 1, 2012, for CU-Boulder and UCCS, and by 4 p.m. Jan. 31, 2012, for CU Denver and Anschutz Medical Campus. Final, completed applications must be submitted by campus grant officers on behalf of applicants by 5 p.m. Feb. 15, 2012.

The Office of the President manages this competitive peer-reviewed program for CU grant applications.  All inquiries should be addressed to the applicant’s campus pre-award grants officer.