CU-Boulder faculty member receives Excellence in Leadership Award

Diane Sieber honored at systemwide event

Diane Sieber and JoAnn Zelasko at the ELP Award Lunch. (Photo: David Sprouse/University of Colorado)

Diane Sieber, Ph.D., associate dean for education in the College of Engineering and Applied Science at the University of Colorado Boulder, was honored with the annual Excellence in Leadership Award given by the systemwide Excellence in Leadership Program (ELP).

Sieber, a President’s Teaching Scholar, received the award during the annual ELP lunch and lecture, attended by 125 program participants and others Nov. 8 at the Brown Palace in Denver.

JoAnn Zelasko, assistant dean for administration at the college, introduced Sieber as “truly a 21st century leader.” Sieber’s CU career includes serving as co-director of the ATLAS Institute from 2000-2007, then directing the Herbst Program of Humanities in Engineering for five years. Before joining the engineering faculty, Sieber, who grew up in Spain, was an associate professor in the Department of Spanish and Portugese.

“CU is welcoming of people like me who change careers every 10 years,” Sieber said.

Such work life evolution was a topic of the lunch’s lecture, delivered by Joseph F. Coughlin, Ph.D., director of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology AgeLab. He researches the effects of demographic change, social trends and technology on consumer behavior, business innovation and public policy around the world.

The event was sponsored by TIAA-CREF Financial Services, and also featured remarks from Connie Weaver, the firm’s chief marketing officer; E. Jill Pollock, vice president, Employee and Information Services, CU; and Janet Lowe, director of Employee Learning and Development, CU.