Board of Regents honors visionaries for commitment, service

Contributions recognized with honorary degrees, awards, medals
By Staff

At its Wednesday meeting, the University of Colorado Board of Regents unanimously approved the 2012 honorary degree, distinguished service and university medal award recipients.

Honorary Degrees:

  • Mohamed Al-Mady, engineering and business visionary responsible for the leadership and development of SABIC, the world’s largest chemical company. Al-Mady is recognized as a pioneer in engineering management, including complex and capital-intensive implementation of multinational projects. (University of Colorado Boulder Awards Steering Committee.)
  • James L. Gallogly, one of the world’s top corporate executives in the oil and gas industry. Gallogly received his Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Colorado Colorado Springs (UCCS) in 1974. His most recent gift to UCCS resulted in the school’s new events center being named the Gallogly Events Center in honor of his father. (University of Colorado Colorado Springs Awards Steering Committee.)

Distinguished Service:

  • David C. Fajgenbaum, founder of a national organization of college students supporting college students grieving the illness of a loved one. After the death of his mother while he was at college, Fajgenbaum organized the Actively Moving Forward (AMF) support network. (CU-Boulder Awards Steering Committee.)
  • Kile Morgan Jr., a leader in the residential real estate industry and in his community. Morgan and his wife have given more than $3.6 million to scholarships and charitable organizations benefitting education, children and health. (CU-Boulder Awards Steering Committee.)

University Medal:

  • Susan Hagedorn, founding board member of the School of Public Affairs’ Center on Domestic Violence at the University of Colorado Denver. A retiree from the College of Nursing at the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus, Hagedorn has pledged $750,000 to support the Center on Domestic Violence. (University of Colorado Denver Awards Steering Committee.)
  • Margot Ladwig Lane, longtime supporter of UCCS and its commitment to its students and health care. Lane and the John and Margot Lane Foundation have recently made a $4 million commitment for a UCCS center that will combine the education and research capabilities of the university with the medical and clinical services of a federally funded health care clinic. (UCCS Awards Steering Committee.)
  • Anna and John J. Sie, committed $22 million to improve the lives of people with Down syndrome through research, education, clinical care and advocacy. The Sies established the Global Down Syndrome foundation (GDSF), which aims to raise an additional $12 million in support of this mission, the Linda Crnic Institute for Down Syndrome and the Anna and John J. Sie Center for Down Syndrome. (CU Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus Awards Steering Committee.)
  • George H. Solich, a volunteer on committees and boards such as the CU Denver Business School Steering Committee; the Global Energy Management Program Advisory Council; and others. Financial support of CU includes gifts to the CU Boulder Basketball Practice Facility Fund, the Dal Ward and Football Coaches Office Renovation Fund, the CancerCure Fund at CU Anschutz Medical Campus and the CU Denver Business School Center for Commodities. (CU Denver Awards Steering Committee.)
Tagged with: