Theodorescu and Bradley

Theodorescu, Bradley chosen for National Cancer Policy Forum

he National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine have appointed Dan Theodorescu, MD, PhD, and Cathy Bradley, PhD, to positions on the prestigious National Cancer Policy Forum.
Camidge honored for lung cancer treatment

Camidge honored for lung cancer treatment

The University of Colorado Cancer Center’s director of thoracic oncology has now joined a short list of lung cancer experts honored with the “A Breath Away from the Cure” Award.
Greene earns NIH Training Grant

Greene earns NIH Training Grant

The U.S. Department of Defense recently granted University of Colorado Cancer Center researchers Jennifer Richer, PhD, Jill Slanksy, PhD, and Virginia Borges, MD, a prestigious Breakthrough Award...
McIlvennan a national Magnet Nurse of the Year

McIlvennan a national Magnet Nurse of the Year

University of Colorado Hospital further cemented its position as one of the nation's top nursing facilities this month with the selection of Colleen McIlvennan, DNP, MS, as a national Magnet Nurse of...

Theodorescu appointed to Clinical Trials and Translational Research Advisory Committee

As cancer treatments become increasingly specific to minute subtypes of the disease, the mechanics of clinical trials targeting cancer are evolving at a pace never before seen.

Gascoigne discusses new student affairs role at CU Anschutz

After eight years in the Colorado School of Public Health (ColoradoSPH) where she served as an associate dean for student affairs and assistant professor, Jan Gascoigne, PhD, is now transitioning...

Stabio’s three keys for graduate school success

The five years in her PhD program included some of the best and hardest educational experiences of assistant professor Maureen Estevez Stabio’s life. She wants every student to have an equally...
Spencer wins four prestigious awards

Spencer wins four prestigious awards

The Kimmel Scholars Program funds 15 of the nation’s top young cancer researchers. The Beckman Young Investigator Program honors eight promising early-career faculty members.
Kohrt named inaugural Nancy Anschutz Chair

Kohrt named inaugural Nancy Anschutz Chair

Kohrt Wendy Kohrt, professor of medicine in the Division of Geriatric Medicine, has been named the inaugural Nancy Anschutz Chair in Women’s Health Research, an endowed chair in the Center for Women’...
School of Medicine faculty contribute to book of essays on medical miracles

School of Medicine faculty contribute to book of essays on medical miracles

Twenty current and former faculty members of the University of Colorado School of Medicine are contributors to a newly published collection of essays, Miracles We Have Seen – America’s Leading...
Henry Claman

In memoriam: Henry Claman

From the Dean’s Weekly Message, CU School of Medicine : Henry Claman, M.D., Distinguished Professor of the University of Colorado, died Sept. 3, 2016, leaving a legacy of scientific and humanistic...

Accurso retires after 42 years in medicine at CU

As a newly minted physician in 1974, Dr. Frank Accurso accepted a pediatric residency at the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center and later chose the subspecialty of pediatric pulmonary...

As interim chair, Heru succeeds Freedman

Alison Heru Alison Heru will serve as interim chair of the Department of Psychiatry while the School of Medicine conducts a search for a successor to Robert Freedman, who is retiring effective Aug...
Nolbert Chavez

Chavez joins Latin American Education Foundation board

Nolbert D. Chavez recently was unanimously appointed as a new member of the board of directors of the Latin American Education Foundation.

Westfall team’s award to help rural health care practices

Jack Westfall A team led by Jack Westfall, professor of family medicine at the School of Medicine, has received a $3 million award from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) to help...
Mary Beth Flynn Makic

Makic named to national board

Mary Beth Flynn Makic , an associate professor and specialty director of the Clinical Nurse Specialist Program at the CU College of Nursing at the Anschutz Medical Campus, where she has taught since...

Regensteiner earns Master of the Society for Vascular Medicine designation

Judy Regensteiner, professor of medicine and director of the Center for Women’s Health Research, recently received the Master of the Society for Vascular Medicine (MSVM) designation from the Society...
De Santis

De Santis named director of Health Sciences Library

De Santis has more than two decades of library service, including seven years as Deputy Director and one year as Interim Director at the Health Sciences Library. De Santis holds a Master of Library...

CU Anschutz team recognized with Denver Public Schools award

The University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus has been selected as the Denver Public Schools CareerConnect Higher Ed Partner of the Year. Christian Valtierra received the award on behalf of CU...

Freedman retiring as psychiatry chair

Robert Freedman, chair of psychiatry in the School of Medicine, recently announced that he will be retiring effective Aug. 31, 2016. Freedman joined the University of Colorado faculty in 1978 as...

Thomas succeeds Byers as ECHO Colorado director

The ECHO Colorado board of directors announced today that John “Fred” Thomas, PhD, will succeed Tim Byers, MD, MPH, as Director of ECHO Colorado while Duane Pearson, MD, will serve as the program’s...