In memoriam

Names of current and former University of Colorado faculty and staff who have died in recent weeks. List compiled by Employee Services. CU-Boulder Adeline M. Casillas, 91, classified staff retiree...
Kristi S. Anseth

Anseth honored with Bonfils-Stanton Foundation award

Anseth CU-Boulder’s Kristi S. Anseth recently was announced as the 2015 Science and Medicine honoree by the Bonfils-Stanton Foundation. Annually, the foundation honors individuals making significant...
Dan Theodorescu

Theodorescu named editor-in-chief of international medical journal

Theodorescu Dan Theodorescu , director of the University of Colorado Cancer Center and professor of urology and pharmacology at the University of Colorado School of Medicine, has been named an editor...

UCCS celebrates faculty, staff at Campus Awards

Outstanding faculty and staff were recognized during the UCCS 2015 Campus Awards Ceremony on April 29. The awards and honorees included: Kraemer Family Library — Campus Sustainability Award ; Eric...
Brian Domitrovic

Domitrovic named CU-Boulder’s third Visiting Scholar in Conservative Thought and Policy

Domitrovic The University of Colorado Boulder has appointed Brian Domitrovic as the Visiting Scholar in Conservative Thought and Policy for the 2015-16 academic year. He is the third person to be...
Zoya Popovic

Popovic, McKnight, Seals named Distinguished Research Lecturers

Zoya Popovic of the Department of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering; Diane McKnight of the Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research; and Douglas Seals of the Department of Integrative...
Niraj Chaudhary

Dropping names …

Chaudhary Two members of the School of Medicine faculty are among the Top 40 Under 40 as ranked by Ophthalmologist magazine. Malik Kahook , professor of ophthalmology, is listed No. 2, and Kaweh...
Fred Anderson

Anderson named 2015 Hazel Barnes Prize winner

Anderson Fred Anderson , professor of history at CU-Boulder, has been awarded the 2015 Hazel Barnes Prize, the most distinguished award a faculty member can receive from the university. Since 1992,...
Associate Professor Elizabeth Fenn

Fenn book wins Pulitzer Prize

Fenn The chair of the University of Colorado Boulder history department on Monday won the Pulitzer Prize for history for her book Encounters at the Heart of the World: A History of the Mandan People...

CU-Boulder, CU Denver team awarded grant

Derek Briggs , professor in the CU-Boulder School of Education; Bud Talbot , professor in the CU Denver School of Education and Human Development Professor; and Jenny Knight , instructor in the CU-...
John Frazee

Frazee retiring as director of faculty relations

Frazee John Frazee , CU-Boulder director of faculty relations, has announced his retirement. In this unique role, Frazee worked with faculty members, department chairs and deans across academic units...
Julaine Field

Dropping names ...

Field Julaine Field , associate professor in the Department of Counseling and Human Services, College of Education at UCCS, recently received the Outstanding Counselor Educator Award from the...

Allen leads ‘Difference Matters’ workshop

Allen Brenda J. Allen , associate vice chancellor for diversity and inclusion for the CU Denver | Anschutz Medical Campus, recently conducted a three-hour, professional development workshop for the...
Paul Mintken

Mintken wins teaching award

Mintken Paul Mintken , associate professor in the Physical Therapy Program at the University of Colorado School of Medicine, received the Dorothy E. Baethke-Eleanor J. Carlin Excellence in Academic...

In memoriam

Names of current and former University of Colorado faculty and staff who have died in recent weeks. List compiled by Employee Services. CU-Boulder Homer H. Clark, 96, faculty retiree emeritus. March...
John Kappler

Kappler named interim scientific director of Barbara Davis Center

Kappler John Kappler, Ph.D., has been named Interim Scientific Director of the Barbara Davis Center for Childhood Diabetes (BDC) in the School of Medicine at the University of Colorado Anschutz...

Limerick named Official CU Fool by President Benson

Limerick CU-Boulder professor Patty Limerick this week announced the launch of the Center of the American West’s Humor Initiative. The choice of date for the announcement wasn’t surprising: April...
Daniel Baker

Baker awarded Sarabhai Professorship and Prize

Baker University of Colorado Boulder Distinguished Professor Daniel Baker was awarded the Vikram A. Sarabhai Professorship and Prize for 2015, which honors internationally distinguished scholars and...
Brett Melbourne

Davies, Melbourne team for study on forest land

Melbourne Kendi Davies and Brett Melbourne , assistant professors in CU-Boulder’s Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, are co-authors of a global study that found that 70 percent of...
David Havlick

Havlick a collaborator on Fort Carson research

Havlick David Havlick, associate professor, Department of Geography and Environmental Studies, UCCS, and Eric Perramond, associate professor of environmental science and Southwest studies, Colorado...
Scott Harpin

Harpin appointed to Colorado Child Fatality Prevention Review Team

Harpin Scott Harpin , assistant professor, College of Nursing at CU Denver, recently was appointed to the Colorado Child Fatality Prevention System (CFPS) State Review Team as a nurse who specializes...
James Beck

Beck named councilor for CU chapter of national medical honor society

Beck James Beck, professor of medicine in the Division of Pulmonary Sciences and Critical Care, School of Medicine, and vice chair for veterans affairs in the Department of Medicine, has been...
Stephen Koester

Koester researches effect of Denver’s camping ban on homeless

Koester Stephen Koester , professor of anthropology and health and behavioral sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at CU Denver, recently co-authored several papers and presented findings...

Raj receives patent for ceramics manufacturing method

Rishi Raj , a CU-Boulder mechanical engineering professor, has been awarded a patent for a faster, energy-efficient technique for manufacturing the ceramic materials used in aerospace, medical...

Miften, Jones awarded research funding for treating pancreatic cancer

Miften Moyed Miften , professor and chief of medical physics, and Bernard Jones , assistant professor, both at the School of Medicine and colleagues in radiation oncology, recently were awarded a $...