Cree-Green receives prestigious research award

Melanie Cree-Green, MD, PhD, an assistant professor of pediatrics-endocrinology in the University of Colorado School of Medicine, is among 18 early-career physician scientists receiving 2018 Clinical...

Baefsky tapped to take arts and media innovation to new level

Although she’s a classical flutist, Laurie Baefsky, DMA, might be considered a rock star by some people on campus – especially if they’re fans of mixing violins and paintbrushes with test tubes and...
Noel appointed state historian

Noel appointed state historian

CU Denver’s own “Dr. Colorado” is now the official State Historian for Colorado. Tom Noel, PhD, professor of history and director of Public History & Preservation, was appointed by History...

Baker receives high honor in geophysics

The American Geophysical Union (AGU) has selected LASP Director Daniel Baker as its 2018 William Bowie Medal recipient. AGU’s highest honor, the William Bowie Medal, is given annually to one honoree...

Davila joins CU Cancer Center

The University of Colorado Cancer Center is always looking for unique approaches to advance cancer science and advanced ways to strengthen our programs. A powerhouse in the field of immunology is now...
JILA, CIRES, NOAA researchers honored with 2018 Governor's Awards

JILA, CIRES, NOAA researchers honored with 2018 Governor's Awards

Two teams affiliated with CU Boulder have been recognized for their impact on the state of Colorado through research on tabletop lasers and the role of consumer products in air pollution.
Nine faculty selected as ethics fellows

Nine faculty selected as ethics fellows

Nine new faculty members will serve as Daniels Fund Ethics Initiative at UCCS Fellows during the 2018-19 academic year. The prestigious Daniels Fund Ethics Initiative Faculty fellowships are awarded...

Jokerst named CU Boulder police chief

Doreen Jokerst has been named the next chief of police for the CU Boulder Police Department after a national search, campus officials announced Friday. Jokerst, a commander with the Parker Police...
Bailey named SCWCC Business Leader of the Year

Bailey named SCWCC Business Leader of the Year

Tatiana Bailey, director, UCCS Economic Forum, was recognized as the 2018 Business Leader of the Year during the Southern Colorado Women’s Chamber of Commerce Accolades Awards Luncheon Aug. 21 at the...
Fox receives two national awards on same day

Fox receives two national awards on same day

University of Colorado Boulder chemical and biological engineering Assistant Professor Jerome M. Fox won two prestigious national awards this spring.

Smith returns to alma mater as associate vice chancellor of research

Jessi L. Smith, current psychology professor at Montana State University, will join UCCS as the Associate Vice Chancellor of Research Aug. 15. She will be the first full-time person to serve in this...
Kauerz joins school of education

Kauerz joins school of education

The University of Colorado Denver’s School of Education & Human Development (SEHD) announced that early learning specialist Kristie Kauerz, EdD, is joining the faculty and will bring the National...

Sirangelo to join CU Boulder Engineering

Mark Sirangelo, who just concluded his career as the head of aerospace giant Sierra Nevada Corporation’s Space Systems, is joining the University of Colorado Boulder as an entrepreneur-in-residence...

Chen talks immigration

Ming H. Chen, associate professor at Colorado Law, directs the CU Immigration Law & Policy Program and serves on the Colorado Advisory Committee to the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights.
Smith to retire after nearly 50 years of nursing education

Smith to retire after nearly 50 years of nursing education

After nearly 50 years of practice, academia, and teaching nursing and other health care professionals, Nancy Smith, dean, Helen and Arthur E. Johnson Beth-El College of Nursing and Health Sciences,...

Zunger wins prestigious energy medal

Research Professor Alex Zunger of the Renewable and Sustainable Energy Institute joins the ranks of former President Jimmy Carter as a recipient of the prestigious Karl W. Böer Solar Energy Medal of...

Trego chosen as Distinguished Nurse Scholar-in-Residence

Lori Trego Lori Trego of the College of Nursing recently was selected as the 2018–2019 Distinguished Nurse Scholar-in-Residence at the National Academy of Medicine (NAM) . During her time as a NAM...
Hanenberg begins term as president of American College Health Association

Hanenberg begins term as president of American College Health Association

Stephanie Hanenberg, executive director, Health and Wellness, will serve as president for the American College Health Association for the 2018-19 year. She began her term June 1 during the 2018...

Kroll elected to American Philosophical Society

Professor of Chinese joins group whose membership includes U.S. presidents, Darwin, Edison, Curie and scores of Nobel laureates
Mark McConkie

In memoriam: Mark McConkie

Memorial services for Mark McConkie, 69, professor emeritus in the School of Public Affairs, will be at 11 a.m., June 25, at The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, 150 Pine Ave. Colorado...