Several at School of Medicine honored

By Staff

Several faculty members of the School of Medicine recently received awards.

Michael Kappy, professor of pediatrics, recently received the 2014 James E. Strain Award, which is bestowed annually to a Children’s Hospital Colorado practitioner who exemplifies the ideals of the American Academy of Pediatrics and its advocacy for child health.

The Century Award, which recognizes a medical staff member who is five or fewer years out of training, was given to Joe Grubenhoff, assistant professor of pediatrics.

The Excellence in Quality and Patient Safety Award was given to the maternal fetal care team.

The Outstanding Service Award was shared by three physicians: Greg Allen, associate professor of otolaryngology and pediatrics at the Anschutz Medical Campus; Rona Norelius, assistant professor of surgery, who is based at Memorial in Colorado Springs; and Bob King, the community-based medical staff member.