Lockhart to receive lifetime honor

By Staff

Charles Lockhart, CU emeritus professor of anesthesiology and pediatrics, School of Medicine, has been named the recipient of the 2015 American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Robert M. Smith Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of pediatric anesthesiology.

This award, which will be given at the academy’s meeting in Phoenix in March 2015, recognizes a lifetime of scholarship, clinical leadership and service to the profession. Lockhart was an early supporter of the Children’s Hospital-School of Medicine affiliation in 1990.

The AAP Section on Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine established the Robert M. Smith Award in 1986 to honor Smith for his contributions in the fields of pediatrics and pediatric anesthesiology. Smith is recognized as one of the pioneers in anesthesiology for his advocacy to improve techniques and equipment for pediatric patients.

Lockhart served as director of anesthesiology at The Children’s Hospital in Denver from 1973 until 1997. He retired from clinical practice in 2007. Lockhart considered Smith a friend, mentor and colleague, and he followed Smith as chairman of the AAP Section on Pediatric Anesthesia in 1978.