Kayden Awards honor CU-Boulder authors

By Staff

The Eugene M. Kayden Awards committee at the University of Colorado at Boulder has announced the 2009 winners of the Kayden Book Awards:

  • Claire Farago (Department of Art and Art History), in the art history category, for "Transforming Images: New Mexican Santos In-Between Worlds" (Pennsylvania State University, 2006).
  • Scott Bruce (Department of History), in the history category, for "Silence and Sign Language in Medieval Monasticism" (Cambridge University Press, 2007). Honorable mention to Susan Kent (Department of History) for "Aftershocks: Politics and Trauma in Britain, 1918-1931" (Palgrave Macmillan, 2009).
  • Stephen Graham Jones (Department of English), in the creative writing category, for "Ledfeather"(Fiction Collective 2, 2008). Honorable mention to Jeffrey Deshell (Department of English) for "The Trouble With Being Born" (Palgrave Macmillan, 2008).

The three winners each will receive a $1,000 research fund, while their departments each will receive $4,000 to host a one-day Author Meets Critics symposium. The awards, which are funded through the Eugene M. Kayden endowment, are intended to foster and promote publication in the humanities, research leading to publication, and the celebration and dissemination of excellent published humanities research.