Environmental Health and Safety honors for Boulder staff, faculty, department


Six University of Colorado Boulder staff and faculty and one department will receive the Environmental Health and Safety Crystal Buffalo Award during an April 29 event.

The awards recognize individuals who have demonstrated consistent and exemplary attention to comply with important environmental and safety regulations and practices. Their commitment and cooperation contribute to the safety and well-being of the campus and its environment.

The awardees are:

The Department of Risk Management and its members: Tara Lindsay, Gary Longfellow, Carolyn Peet, Melody West, Paul Williams and Terry LeeTarek Sammakia, chemistry and biochemistry; Jerry Greene, molecular, cellular and development biology; Michael J. Marks, Institute for Behavioral Genetics;Christine Seibold, INSTAAR; Christopher Cox, safety manager, facilities management; and Kevin Cooley, small construction projects coordinator, facilities management.

Colorado Springs assembly welcomes new members

Newly elected members of the Faculty Representative Assembly at the University of Colorado Colorado Springs were introduced during an April 8 meeting.

After a year as president-elect, Katie Kaukinen, associate professor, School of Public Affairs, becomes assembly president. Other office-holders for 2011-2012 are:

  • President-elect: Andrea Hutchins, associate professor, Beth-El College of Nursing and Health Sciences.
  • Secretary: Amanda Sinclair, assistant professor, Beth-El College of Nursing and Health Sciences.
  • Faculty Council representative: Elissa Auther, assistant professor, Visual and Performing Arts.

College representatives are:

  • College of Business and Administration: Monique Dooley, associate professor, and Morgan Shepherd, professor.
  • College of Education: Julaine Field, associate professor.
  • College of Engineering and Applied Science: Pam Carter, senior instructor, and Rebecca Webb, assistant professor.
  • Beth-El College of Nursing and Health Sciences: Jeff Spicher, assistant professor.
  • School of Public Affairs: Lonnie Schaible, assistant professor.
  • Kraemer Family Library: Beth Kumar, assistant professor.
  • College of Letter, Arts and Sciences: Suzanne Cook, instructor; Hilary Smith, assistant professor; andMichele Companion, associate professor.

A fourth LAS representative will be announced following a run-off election.