Eleven CU-Boulder faculty members honored with NSF CAREER Awards

By Staff

Eleven University of Colorado Boulder researchers, including an unprecedented number of engineers, have received the National Science Foundation’s prestigious Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Awards.

The recently announced winners include seven so far this year—all from the College of Engineering and Applied Science—and four from 2014.

The research awards, which usually amount to about $500,000 over five years, “support junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research,” according to NSF.

“We are excited to have such a large number of award winners,” said Stein Sture, CU-Boulder vice chancellor for research. “These honors reflect the outstanding quality of the young faculty we attract to our campus.”

The award winners so far in 2015 are Aaron Clauset and Tom Yeh, both of the Department of Computer Science; Greg Rieker of the Department of Mechanical Engineering; Shideh Dashti and Fernando Rosario-Ortiz, both of the Department of Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering; Alireeza Doostan of the Department of Aerospace Engineering Sciences; and Joel Kaar of the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering.

The 2014 winners are Alaa Ahmed of the Department of Integrative Physiology; Kendi Davies of the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology; Robin Dowell of the Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology; and Jason Marden of the Department of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering.

Click here to see photos of the winners and read brief descriptions of the research projects being funded by these NSF CAREER Awards.