Dropping names ...

By Staff

Ann Komara, associate professor and Chair of Landscape Architecture at the College of Architecture and Planning (CAP) at CU Denver, presented a paper at the 67th Annual Conference of the Society of Architectural Historians in Austin, Texas on April 11. Her presentation was “Wilderness Playground: Image and Reception, Rocky Mountain National Park.” … CAP colleague Amir H. Ameri, associate professor of architecture, presented his paper “A Path to Elsewhere: The Transcenium Experience” at the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) 102nd Annual Meeting on April 10 in Miami Beach, Fla. … Taisto Mäkelä, associate professor of architecture and director of Finnish Initiatives, was invited this spring to lecture at two universities in Spain. Mäkelä delivered “The Cultural Continuum of Wood Architecture in Finland,” on April 1 at the Alfonso X el Sabio University in Madrid. Then on April 3, he presented “4 Art Museums: Ponti, Libeskind, Adjaye, Cloepfil,” at the University of Zaragoza. … Outstanding faculty and staff at the UCCS were recognized at the 2014 Campus Awards Ceremony on May 7. Award winners are: Campus Sustainability Award: Nanna Meyer, associate professor, Beth-El College of Nursing and Health Sciences; Chancellor’s Award: Daniel Segal, professor and faculty supervisor, Psychology Department; Outstanding Staff Award: Ida Bauer, director, Family Development Center; Faculty Award for Outstanding Contribution to Diversity & Inclusiveness: Jeff Scholes, director, Center for Religious Diversity, and instructor, Philosophy Department; Faculty Award for Excellence in Research: Gregory Plett, professor, College of Engineering and Applied Science, and director, GATE Center of Excellence in Innovative Drivetrains in Electric Automotive Technology Education; Outstanding Instructor Award: Kyle Webb, instructor, College of Engineering and Applied Science; Ron Wisner Human Spirit and Leadership Award: Jason Adams, senior, biology; Thomas F. McLaughlin Award: Luke Dakin, graduate student, business; Outstanding Teacher Award: Rebecca Webb, assistant professor, College of Engineering and Applied Science; SGA Student’s Choice for Educator of the Year: Jennifer Clarke, senior instructor, Psychology Department; and Faculty Assembly Award: Donald Morley, professor, Communication Department. For photos from the event, see Communique.