Dropping names …

By Staff
Lorna Moore

Lorna Moore

Lorna Moore, professor of obstetrics and gynecology at the CU School of Medicine, joined a group of distinguished colleagues last month when she was awarded the Robert F. Grover Prize from the American Thoracic Society during a ceremony in Philadelphia. The award recognizes “outstanding contributions to the study of the effect of hypoxia and high altitude on the pulmonary circulation” and is named after Robert F. Grover, a member of the CU School of Medicine faculty 1957-84. …Timberley Roane and Aimee Bernard, CU Denver Integrative Biology faculty, were on the Steering Committee for the 20th annual American Society for Microbiology Conference for Undergraduate Educators (ASMCUE -, May 16-19 in Denver. They helped recruit several talented scientists/educators from the Denver area as speakers at the conference. Bernard participated in a group presentation titled “Doing the Classroom Flip: Are You Ready to Turn Your Classroom on its Head?” The ASMCUE is an intensive four-day working conference that brings together 300-plus educators from colleges, universities and international institutions to learn and share the latest information in the biological sciences and education research. ASMCUE participants are focused on the same goal: to improve teaching and learning in the biological sciences. …Bryan Haugen and Marvin Schwarz, professors of medicine at the CU School of Medicine, are among the 64 physicians elected this year to the Association of American Physicians, which has about 1,300 active members and 600 emeritus and honorary members. The nonprofit, professional organization was founded in 1885 for “the advancement of scientific and practical medicine.” Members are from the United States, Canada and other countries. The goals of its members include the pursuit of medical knowledge, and the advancement through experimentation and discovery of basic and clinical science and their application to clinical medicine. Each year, individuals having attained excellence in achieving these goals, are recognized by nomination for membership by the Council of the Association. Their election gives them the opportunity to share their scientific discoveries and contributions with their colleagues at the annual meeting.