Doctors recognized at national meeting

By Staff

At the American College of Rheumatology meeting in November, members of the University of Colorado School of Medicine's division of rheumatology received awards of recognition.

William Arend, M.D. and Distinguished Professor Emeritus, received the ACR Presidential Gold Medal. The highest award of the college, the medal recognizes a lifetime of achievement and contributions to rheumatology.

Sterling West, M.D. and professor, was given the Distinguished Clinician Scholar Award, the college's highest award for a rheumatologist who has made outstanding contributions in clinical medicine, clinical scholarship or education.

Susan Boackle, M.D. and associate professor, gave the Edmund L. Dubois Memorial Lectureship, which recognizes the best lupus research performed in the country. Jason Kolfenbach, M.D., became an ACR Distinguished Fellow in recognition of his research, educational and clinical achievements during his recently completed fellowship training.