Corboy honored for neurology work

By Staff


John R. Corboy, M.D., a professor of neurology at the University of Colorado School of Medicine, has been honored with the President's Award of the American Academy of Neurology (AAN).

Corboy specialized in Multiple Sclerosis and neurovirology at the University of Minnesota Medical Center before moving to Colorado in 1994. In 1997, he founded the University of Colorado Multiple Sclerosis Center and built it into a multidisciplinary group offering state-of-the-art care and research to patients with MS and related disorders. With a new collaboration in 2008, he is now co-director of the Rocky Mountain MS Center (RMMSC) at the Anschutz Medical Campus of the University of Colorado, and director of the RMMSC Tissue Bank, a leading source of human MS and control tissue for research in MS.

Corboy is the first editor of the new AAN journal, “Neurology: Clinical Practice.” He also has a longstanding interest in graduate medical education and was a long-time member and former chair of the Graduate Education Subcommittee of the AAN.

AAN President Bruce Sigsbee, M.D., said, “Dr. Corboy has distinguished himself in neurovirology and MS. It is his leadership of the team that launched the new Neurology: Clinical Practice journal, and the personal commitment and expertise that he brings to that launch, that is recognized by the President's Award."

Along with his membership in the AAN, Corboy is an elected member of the American Neurological Association and AOA, the medical school honor society. He is author or co-author of 68 peer-reviewed research publications, book chapters, and invited articles. He serves on the Colorado-Wyoming Board of the National Multiple Sclerosis Society (NMSS), and formerly was on the national Professional Education Committee also at NMSS. His main areas of interest are diagnostic issues and clinical therapeutics in MS.

Corby will receive his award at the academy’s annual meeting in New Orleans in April.