Boulder Faculty Assembly names excellence award winners

By Staff

Twelve University of Colorado at Boulder faculty members have received the 2010 Boulder Faculty Assembly Excellence Awards.

The honors, which include a $3,000 cash prize, are awarded to individuals in three areas: teaching, service, and research and scholarly work.

Winners in the excellence in teaching category, which focuses on classroom teaching, are Janet de Grazia,chemical and biological engineering; Nicholas Schneider, astrophysical and planetary sciences and Laboratory for Atmospheric and Space Physics; David Barnett, philosophy; and Mary Nelson, applied mathematics.

Faculty service is defined as professional activities other than teaching and research performed as regular responsibilities or community outreach. Such activities may include committee work, faculty governance, student advising, service in state or national professional organization, and volunteer work in public and nonprofit organizations.

Winners in the faculty service category are Lisa Barlow, Baker environmental residential academic program;Martin Bickman, English and service learning; Christopher Braider, French and Italian, and Anne Dougherty, applied mathematics.

Excellence in research, scholarly and creative work awardees are Takacs Quartet (Edward Dusinberre, Andras Fejer, Karoly Schranz, and Geraldine Walther), music; Frances Bagenal, astrophysical and planetary sciences; Thomas Johnson, integrative physiology and institute for behavioral genetics; Martha Palmer,linguistics, Institute of Cognitive Science, and computer science. These awards are given for high-quality work that does not receive recognition through usual channels, such as interdisciplinary research, work accomplished with undergraduates or integrated long-term achievements.

The Boulder Faculty Assembly is the representative body of faculty on the Boulder campus and sets academic policy and advises the administration.