Boulder, Denver researchers elected as fellows

By Staff

Cumalat, Johnson, McKnight


Agarwal, Carpenter

Three University of Colorado at Boulder faculty members and two University of Colorado School of Pharmacy researchers have been named fellows of the prestigious American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for 2009.

The three Boulder faculty members are John Cumalat of the physics department, Thomas Johnson of the integrative physiology department and Diane McKnightof the civil, environmental and architectural engineering department.

Raj Agarwal and John Carpenter are two of only eight Pharmaceutical Sciences AAAS fellows elected in 2009.

The five were among 531 AAAS fellows elected by their peers for efforts to advance science or foster scientifically or socially distinguished applications. They will be honored at the Fellows Forum during the AAAS annual meeting, Feb. 20 in San Diego.