Nobel at Noon: Economic Sciences

Thursday, December 12, 2019
12:00pm – 1:00pm
Wartgow Welcome Center, Student Common Building, CU Denver

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2019 was awarded jointly to Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Duflo, and Michael Kremer “for their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty.”

Andrea Velasquez, PhD, assistant professor of economics at CU Denver, will lead a discussion about the trio’s designed measures to reduce global poverty for the December 12h Nobel at Noon Series.

The Nobel at Noon Series spotlights each Nobel Prize with an informal presentation and discussion. CU Denver faculty experts discuss the meaning and importance of the Nobel Prize while drawing the audience into a discussion about why this award matters to society as a whole.

The lecture begins at 12 p.m. on Thursday, December 12, in the Wartgow Welcome Center (Student Commons Building, Room 1300). Light refreshments will be provided. Feel free to bring your lunch.

More information: https://news.ucdenver.edu/nobel-at-noon-economic-sciences/