Dropping names …

Rafael BenitezRafael Benitez, IT director, recently gave a presentation at the annual Oracle Open World event on Master Data Management (MDM).  More than 60,000 people from around the world converged on San Francisco for the event. Benitez gave an overview on how MDM is being used today and how CU expects to use it in the future. … Marian Rewers, professor of pediatrics and interim director of the Barbara Davis Center for Diabetes, has received the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation’s Mary Tyler Moore and S. Robert Levine Award for Excellence in Clinical Research at the European Association for the Study of Diabetes meeting in Barcelona. The award recognizes his contributions in the area of prevention of childhood-onset Type 1 diabetes.

Faculty members in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at CU-Boulder published several works and received a variety of honors:

  • Borden


    Professor Mark Borden was invited to the U.S. Frontiers of Engineering Symposium in September. Eighty-one of the nation’s brightest young engineers were selected to attend the symposium on designing and analyzing social networks, cognitive manufacturing, and energy.

  • Professor Steve George was given the 2013 ALD Innovation Award at the International Conference on Atomic Layer Deposition in July in recognition of his original work and leadership in atomic layer deposition.
  • Hamlington


    Assistant Professor Peter Hamlington and Nicole Lovenduski of INSTAAR were awarded a National Science Foundation (NSF) grant for $401,000 titled “Collaborative Research: Reacting Tracers in a Turbulent Mixed Layer.”

  • Assistant Professor Daven Henze is the 2013 Junior Faculty winner of the Dean’s Faculty Performance Award.
  • Professor Emeritus David Kassoy renewed a subcontract from the University of California, Irvine to Kassoy Innovative Science Solutions, LLC, for “Reduced Basis and Stochastic Modeling of a Liquid Propellant Rocket Engine as a Complex System” under a grant from the Air Force Office of Scientific Research. Additionally, Kassoy’s paper on non-diffusive ignition of a gaseous reactive mixture will be published in “Combustion Theory and Modeling.”
  • Instructor Jeff Knutsen received the Marinus Smith Recognition Award, recognizing faculty and staff who have had a significant impact on CU-Boulder’s undergraduate population.
  • Professor Emeritus Frank Kreith published “Sustainable Energy Systems” in August, which will be used in Professor Jana Milford’s Sustainable Energy course this fall. Kreith also received a grant from the Retired Faculty Association to study the symbiotic relation between fracking and renewable energy.
  • Professor Y.C. Lee received the InterPACK Achievement Award, the highest honor in the ASME Packaging Community.
  • Professor Shelly Miller published two papers on ultraviolet germicidal irradiation in the July and August editions of “Photochemistry” and “Photobiology.”
  • Professor Rishi Raj received a three-year, $480,000 award from the Nuclear Energy University Program via the University of Tennessee at Knoxville for “Advanced Accident-tolerant Ceramic Coatings for 2r-alloy Cladding: The C 3 Project.”
  • Senior Instructor Derek Reamon received the student-nominated John & Mercedes Peebles Innovation in Education Award.
  • Assistant Professor Greg Rieker received $310,000 in NSF funding for a project with the Colorado School of Mines aimed at understanding early-stage chemical decomposition of coal char in entrained-flow gasifiers, an important technology for cleaner utilization of abundant coal resources.
  • Assistant Professor Mark Rentschler, with co-PIs Daria Kotys-Schwartz and Kevin O’Connor (Colorado School of Mines), received an NSF award to understand the design practices of the contemporary engineering workplace and organization of design process.
  • Associate professors Wei Tan and Stephanie Bryant received a five-year, $1.8 million grant from National Institutes of Health/National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NIH/NHLBI) to develop a biomaterial platform that can precisely define the physical, chemical, structural and biological microenvironments for mesenchymal stem cells, which may lead to highly efficacious vascular therapy.
  • A paper titled “Digital Cameras with Designs Inspired by the Arthropod Eye” by Assistant Professor Jianliang Xiao and his colleagues was published in “Nature.”
  • Professor Ronggui Yang was featured in the summer edition of Engineering Standards News and Resources for Engineers Nano Newsletter for his research on nanoscale transport phenomena.

New faculty for fall 2013 in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at CU-Boulder:

  • Senior Instructor Marcelo Bergquist received his BS in mechanical engineering from Tulane University, MBA from Boston University, and an MS in strategic studies from the U.S. Army War College. Over the course of a 30-year career, he has worked in high volume manufacturing operations for consumer electronics, storage, energy management and home automation industries. Bergquist has led teams in new product introduction, manufacturing, supply chain management and independent business units. He has worked at Texas Instruments, Maxtor, Exabyte, Tendril, and is now involved with Revolv. Now at CU, Bergquist will be involved in three ME senior design projects and one graduate design project.
  • Professor Stephen George is a leading expert in atomic layer and molecular layer deposition. He has a 50 percent joint appointment with the mechanical engineering and chemistry-biochemistry departments at CU-Boulder. George received his Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of California, Berkeley. His research focuses on the fabrication, design, and properties of ultrathin films and nanostructures. His group is developing new surface chemistries for thin film growth, measuring thin film growth using in situ techniques, and characterizing thin film properties. This research is relevant to many technological areas such as semiconductor processing, flexible displays, MEMS/NEMS, lithium ion batteries, and fuel cells.
  • Julie Steinbrenner joins the faculty as an instructor. This will be her second year at CU; last year she taught courses in graduate and undergraduate heat transfer and mentored graduating students on their senior design projects as an adjunct professor. Steinbrenner earned her Ph.D. in mechanical engineering at Stanford University, and her research interests and experiences are centered in the thermal-fluid sciences, with particular focus on energy applications. In the course of her studies, she worked at national laboratories in France and Switzerland. Following completion of her Ph.D., she worked as a research scientist at Palo Alto Research Corporation (formerly Xerox PARC).
  • Xiaobo Yin joined the department and the Materials Science Engineering Program as an assistant professor. His current research focuses on nanoscale science and technology, nanostructured materials and devices, metamaterials and nanophotonics, and scalable and sustainable nano-manufacturing technology. Yin has authored more than 50 articles in peer-reviewed scientific journals and has given more than 10 invited presentations at international conferences and seminars. He received his Ph.D. from Stanford University in electrical engineering in 2008. Before joining the faculty, Yin was a post-doctoral researcher at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and senior scientist at University of California at Berkeley.